School Board Members

Charles City County School Board Members

Charles City County Public Schools has an elected five member School Board.  School Board meetings are held on the 3rd Tuesday of each month.  Please take a moment to get to know your board members. School Board policies are located on the side menu for your review.

Chair, District 1 Member

Helen Payne-Jones 

 Helen Payne Jones- School Board District 1 Ms. Payne-Jones and her family moved to Charles City in 2006. We are the descendants of James and Keziah Charity, who settled in Charles City County as recorded in the 1810 census. Her family has a long rich history of accomplishments and contributions to the county.  In the spirit of continuing  her family’s contributions to the county, Helen agreed to campaign for School Board and was elected in November 2011. She is a former vice president at Bank of America and REDC Community Capital Group, with decades of experience in consumer/commercial financing.  Helen and her husband Micheal are the proud parents of four children who attended Charles City County Public Schools.

Helen Payne-Jones

Vice Chair- District 2 Member

Herbert Johnson 

 Herbert Johnson, School Board District 2 


Herbert moved to Charles City County in 1975.  He is married to Francene Adkins Johnson and has attended St Paul’s College, Boise State University, and Virginia Commonwealth University.  He has worked closely with the Charles City High School Band and other entities in the school system.

District 3 Member

Martha Harris 

 Martha Harris- School Board District 3 

Martha Harris

Ms. Martha Harris was elected to serve as School Board representative for District 3 in 2011. In 2015, she was re-elected for an additional four year term. Ms. Harris is an advocate for children, employees, and other individuals. Her work with the youth in Charles City County began over 30 years ago through coaching and volunteer work.  Ms. Harris received a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from Virginia Commonwealth University, a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration from Averett University, and a Certificate in Grant Writing from the University of Richmond. Ms. Harris has expertise in employment law, employee relations, disability laws and advocacy, and career development. Currently, Ms. Harris is employed with the Virginia Department of Human Resource Management as a State EEO Program Specialist; she is also a notary, a private investigator as well as a Court-Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) for the Henrico County Juvenile and Domestic Court.

At-Large Member

E. Preston Adkins 

 Preston Adkins School Board Member at Large 

Mr. Elvis Preston Adkins has been married to his lovely wife Tina for 27 years. He has a son, Wesley, and a daughter, Stormie. All are graduates of Charles City High School. Mr. Adkins was elected as an At- Large School Board Member in 2007, re-elected in 2011, and again in 2015. He has a passion for getting the job done and working with the parents of students and the employees of the school system.  Mr. Adkins serves as head usher at Samaria Baptist Church, where he also serves on the Church Council. He is an enrolled member of the Chickahominy Indian Tribe, were he is a member of the Chickahominy Tribal Dancers. Mr. Adkins has spread the culture of his Native people for 35 years through dance and teaching. He has had the opportunity to visit France twice sharing his culture. He has also been a part of the last nine governors’ inaugurations.  Mr. Adkins had the opportunity to participate in opening Interstate 895 with Governor Mark Warner. He also had the opportunity to meet and talk with former Pres. George W. Bush when he visited Charles City County in 2008. He currently enjoys working everyday as a truck driver, which he has been doing for the past 31 years.

At-Large Member

Dr. Steve Fuhrmann

 Dr. Steve Furhman, School Board Member at large 

Dr. Steven Fuhrmann

Steve and his wife, Louise Hudgins, first moved to Charles City in 1976. Steve was born and schooled through the master’s degree level in Wisconsin. Among other educational achievements, Steve earned a Doctorate in Education from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and is a Registered Nurse.  He retired from public service in 2005, after 15 years as Public Health Manager for the Chickahominy Health District.  His experiences include:  being a pediatric, rehabilitation and neurosurgery intensive care nurse; an adolescent residential treatment care director; an university administrative faculty member; a high school guidance counselor; and a school food service director.  He has traveled extensively in North Africa, the Middle East, Europe and the Americas. Steve was first elected to the Board in 2011 and served as Chairman in 2012.